Skip to content

Urban gardening excites lady prof

March 18, 2010

Agri Plain Talk

By ZAC B. SARIAN

January 13, 2010, 5:59pm

A lady civil engineer who teaches computer science subjects in Cagayan de Oro has recently caught the vegetable gardening bug and is very excited about it.

She is Bing Yaneza who teaches at the Xavier University-Ateneo de Cagayan. She said it all started after reading the September issue of Agriculture Magazine in which we featured sweet pepper and in which we mentioned East-West Seed Company. She confesses that was the beginning of her interest in farming.

She writes: “Immediately I contacted EWSC and made reservations for training last September 2009 in Bulacan, just after the typhoon Ondoy. Though there was an incoming typhoon after Ondoy, it didn’t stop me to proceed with the scheduled training at EWSC.

“Just to make my story short, when I came back to Cagayan de Oro, I was still wondering how I could implement the theories I got from EWSC when I don’t have a farm area big enough for farming.

Sometime in October, I went to Ace Hardware at SM and bought Potting Soil Mix and other materials for sowing seedlings. Finally on October 25, 2009, me and my 9-year-old son Ray, sowed hybrid Sultan sweet pepper, hybrid Diamante Max tomato and hybrid Django hot pepper in just one seedling tray. I prepared a notebook to document all the things I did with my first-time encounter with farming.

“I was so excited when I saw the first centimeter height of my seedlings. Up to now (she emailed January 6), I could still feel the excitement, hehe. It’s so amazing. My career is far from Agriculture and I never thought I could grow plants at my lawn. I graduated from BS Civil Engineering in college, took my MS in Computer Science from ADMU, now taking MSIT and currently back teaching computer science subjects at Xavier University-Ateneo de Cagayan.

“I am sharing this to you because I realize that urban farming is really possible in a very limited area. Let me share with you some of the pictures taken from the first week of transplanting and one month after transplanting.

“On October 25, we sowed the seeds in the seedling tray.

November 21, we removed all the ornamental plants from my lawn and tilled the soil. November 22, we prepared the soil with basal fertilizer application and placed plastic mulch, put holes on the plastic mulch. On December 4, we transplanted hybrid Django hot pepper. December 12, we took some pictures of my Diamante, Sultan and Django. On December 31, just one month and a couple of days from the date of transplanting, we took pictures again (see photos).

“Now, look at the difference, hehe. I placed a yellow wooden ruler for you to see the height difference of my vegetables. I am so happy to see my vegetables daily. It made me proud of my self, hehe.”

“Pasensya na sa aking mahabang kwento. Excited pa rin talaga ako lalo na ngayon na marami na silang bunga. Imagine, It’s still January 6, 2010. I will take pictures before first harvest scheduled on January 25, 2010, my birthday.”

Congratulations, Bing! Of course we are very happy and excited, too. We hope that many other professionals like you would also be inspired to do their own brand of farming, even only on limited scale. Who knows, you could later venture into commercial vegetable production since you now have the know-how. You don’t have to buy your own land. After all, many of the successful vegetable growers we have met do their farming on rented land.

Happy birthday in advance, Bing.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

